About   |   Donate   |   Store   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join AAW
Woodturning News: General News

AAW Announces 2017 Grant Award Recipients (04/24/2017)

Monday, April 24, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |

The American Association of Woodturners (AAW) board and Educational Opportunity Grant (EOG) Committee are pleased to announce 2017 EOG grant award recipients.  AAW’s EOG program offers funding for educational opportunities that expand and enrich the entire woodturning community, creating opportunities for members who would otherwise not be financially able.

For 2017, nearly 100 grant applications were reviewed and a total of 23 grant applications were approved. Approved were a total of 14 financial grants for an aggregate of $15,330 and 19 in-kind lathe grants.  




  • Apple Valley  Woodturners, Berryville, VA
  • Inland Northwest Woodturners, Spokane, WA 
  • San Diego Woodturners, Turn Around for Vets program, San Diego, CA
  • Southern Piedmont Woodturners, Concord, NC


  • Pat Carroll, Bunclody, Wexford, Ireland
  • Judith Deame, Rockland, MA 
  • Catherine Fisher, Nashua, NH
  • Sara Robinson, Corvallis, OR 
  • Scarlette Rouse, Seven Springs, NC 
  • Aria Tudanger, North Billerica, MA
  • David Wright, West Chester, OH


  • Camden Hills Regional High School, Rockport, ME 
  • Davies High School, Fargo, ND 
  • Falcon Christian Academy, Falcon, NC   



  • Cape Cod Woodturners, Marstons Mills, MA
  • Catoctin Area Woodturners, Ashburn,VA
  • Central New York Woodturners, Liverpool, NY 
  • Coastal Bend Woodturners, Corpus Christi, TX
  • Dakota Wood Turners, Bismarck, ND
  • Hunt County Woodturners, Greenville, TX
  • Maui Woodturners Association, Makawao, HI
  • Quad State Bodgers, Keyser, WV
  • Tri City Woodturners, Greeneville, TN


  • Latitia Camire, Beaverton, OR 
  • Sue Fox, Satellite Beach, FL 
  • Brenda Keech, Wichita, KS


  • Anchorage Waldorf School, Anchorage, AK
  • Culleoka Unit School, Culleoka, TN
  • Fairview High School, Cullman, AL
  • Grace Baptist Academy, Miami, FL
  • Health Science High School, Beaverton, OR
  • Seward Public High School, Seward, NE
  • Topsail High School, Hampstead, NC

The annual EOG financial grants are made available as a result of the proceeds of benefit auctions held during each AAW Annual International Symposium. Financial grant monies are to be used by recipients for educational expenses such as tuition, registration, demonstrators' fees, travel, lodging, and meals.

For 2017, the EOG committee also accepted applications for in-kind grants of wood lathes, thanks to the generosity of Jet-Powermatic and Nova Teknatool. The Nova lathes were originally used at the 2016 AAW International Symposium Women in Turning (WIT) Hands-On program and the Jet-Powermatic lathes will be used for the Youth program at the 2017 AAW International Symposium. These lathes and are to be used by EOG recipients to introduce woodturning to individuals and groups who otherwise would not have an opportunity to learn woodturning.

The application process for 2018 grants will open in October and applications will be accepted through December 31, 2017. Learn more.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal