About   |   Donate   |   Store   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join AAW
Woodturning News: General News

NEWS: Winners of first Turning to the Future competition announced

Monday, July 27, 2015   (0 Comments)
Share |


We are thrilled to announce the winners of the first Turning to the Future competition and juried exhibit, which promotes opportunities in woodturning and showcases student woodturning talent. Six students were recognized with awards for their remarkable woodturning work on Friday, July 24, 2015, at the Association of Woodworking & Furnishings Suppliers® (AWFS®)Fair, held at the Las Vegas Convention Center, in Las Vegas, Nevada, as follows:

High School Division



First Place: Michael Andersen


Chama, New Mexico

“Twisting Wings”



Second Place: Kailee Bosch

Poudre High School

Fort Collins, Colorado




Honorable Mention: Miguel Ingles

Cedar Ridge High School

Hillsborough, North Carolina

"Triple Helix"

Collegiate Division



First Place: Carrie Etherington

Brigham Young University

Lehi, Utah

"African Box"



Second Place: Taima Krayem

North Bennett Street School

Cambridge, Massachusetts

"Rings Bowl"

Honorable Mention: Danielle Heckman

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Indiana, Pennsylvania



The finalists and winners were selected by jurors Christian Brisepierre, professional turner; Jimmy Clewes, professional turner and woodturning instructor; Linda Ferber, program director, American Association of Woodturners; Beth Ireland, professional woodturner, artist, and educator; and, Tib Shaw, curator, American Association of Woodturners. Download a brochure which features work of all of the finalists.

The first place winner of each division received $500 and a RIKON 7-220VSR midilathe; second place received $100; and honorable mention received $50. Each winner will also receive a complimentary registration for AAW's Annual International Symposium, as well as a subscription to the American Woodturner journal, the foremost publication on the art and craft of woodturning in the world. The lathes and cash prizes were generously donated by RIKON, dedicated to designing and manufacturing woodworking machinery of the highest quality that enhances the woodworking experience. A special thank you to Joe Taylor from RIKON.

The Turning to the Future competition was developed by the American Association of Woodturners (AAW), nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the art and craft of woodturning worldwide, and Association of Woodworking & Furnishings Suppliers® (AWFS®), the largest national trade association in the U.S. representing the interests of the broad array of companies that supply the home and commercial furnishings industry. North American high school and post-secondary students who attend accredited art, design, woodworking, and trade programs were eligible to compete in Turning to the Future, and a total of 43 entries from 29 students in 12 schools across the U.S. and Canada were received.


(June 27, 2015)

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal