About   |   Donate   |   Store   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join AAW
AAW Announces Winners of Scholarships to Arrowmont and Campbell Schools
Share |



AAW Announces Winners of Scholarships to Arrowmont and Campbell Schools

(December 12 - Saint Paul) - In June of 2013, the American Association of Woodturners (AAW) Board of Directors approved an exciting new program to provide woodturning school scholarships to members of the AAW. With the continued support and funding from the AAW Endowment Trust Fund, and with matching contributions made by the Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts and the John C. Campbell Folk School, the award of scholarships was made possible again in 2014. This year, the total number of scholarships awarded was increased to twenty eight.
To be eligible to apply for a scholarship, candidates must have been nominated by a process approved by their AAW chapter. A total of 75 chapters participated, resulting in the nomination of 112 AAW members. All nominees were eligible for a scholarship award through a random drawing. We are extremely pleased to congratulate the following twenty eight scholarship recipients: 

John C. Campbell Folk School Scholarship Recipients

  • Brett Corrier, Tennessee Association of Woodturning
  • Jeanne Douphrate, Alamo Woodturners Association
  • Brian Effinger, Finger Lakes Woodturners Association
  • Arnold Geiger, Alaska Woodturners Association, Inc.
  • George Geissler, Lehigh Valley Woodturners
  • James Gerus, North Florida Woodturners Association
  • Mike Phillips, Southern Arizona Woodturning Association
  • John Puckhaber, Atlantic Shore Woodturners
  • Marshall Reagan, Apple Ridge Woodturners
  • Brian Saunders, San Diego Woodturners, Inc.
  • Steve Schmitt, Lockportwoodworkers
  • James Stone, ArkLaTex Woodturners
  • Dean Sword, Tidewater Turners
  • Joe Zadareky, Capital Area Woodturners

Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts Scholarship Recipients

  • Sally Ault, San Diego Woodturners, Inc.
  • Tim Aley, Mid-Maryland Woodturners Club
  • William Engels, Carolina Mountain Woodturners
  • Gerald Jensen, BayLake Woodturners
  • Carlos Kennedy, Carolina Mountain Woodturners
  • Sharon Kissling, Wilmington Area Woodturners Association
  • Ken Lobo, Chesapeake Woodturners
  • Bill Long, Montgomery County Woodturners
  • Hartford Manning, Simcoe Woodturners Guild
  • Steve Mellott, Georgia Association of Woodturners
  • Mike Oglesby, South Plains Wood Turners
  • Matt Radtke, Montgomery County Woodturners
  • Carey Reed, Southern Arizona Woodturning Association
  • Bill Weber, Ohio Valley Woodturners Guild

The AAW is excited for the rewarding and enriching experiences that lie ahead for each of the scholarship recipients. We are grateful to the Arrowmont and Campbell schools for their financial support of this initiative. We want to especially thank all of the participating chapters for their overwhelmingly positive expressions of support for our educational mission.        

Yours respectfully,
Phil McDonald         
AAW Executive Director




Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal